Board of Supervisors

1195 Third St. Suite 310 Napa, CA 94559 www.countyofnapa.org

Main: (707) 253-4421

Belia Ramos Chair



A Tradition of Stewardship A Commitment to Service

September 12, 2023

California Advanced Services Fund California Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102

Dear CPUC Staff and Commissioners:

The County of Napa (County) is committed to ensuring that its residents and businesses have access to affordable and reliable high-speed broadband services. The County fully supports Comcast's Federal Funding Account (FFA) application to deploy and expand broadband infrastructure across the County.

The County went through an extensive process to select an Internet Service Provider to partner with for the FFA application. The County first issued a Request for Information to garner an overview of provider interests to service identified priority areas of unserved and underserved communities. Second, a Request for Proposal was issued and the process included interviews with individual respondents, County staff, and our broadband consultant.

At the conclusion of the process, it was determined that Comcast was the most qualified candidate for the County to partner with, due to their plan to build a fiber-based solution to the most unserved/underserved residents within the FFA allocation, their ability to meet or exceed speed requirements, their commitment to customer pricing and their willingness to collaborate on a site choice. Enhanced broadband services will enable our residents to take advantage of online resources to assist with homework and other educational opportunities, as well as provide access to job-seeking resources, financial services, telehealth, and other amenities millions of Californians take for granted.

Comcast's application has official support of the County of Napa. Please consider our formal selection process and endorsement of Comcast as you make the award determination.

Sincerely,

Belia Ramos Chair

> Joelle Gallagher District 1

Ryan Gregory District 2 Anne Cottrell District 3 Alfredo Pedroza District 4 Belia Ramos District 5