# **Meeting Minutes**



## **Climate Action Committee**

American Canyon Calistoga Napa Napa County St. Helena

Yountville

Pierre Washington Chris Canning (*Vice-Chair*) Bernie Narvaez Brad Wagenknecht (*Chair*) Geoff Ellsworth

John Dunbar

Mark Joseph Gary Kraus Liz Alessio Alfredo Pedroza Anna Chouteau Marita Dorenbecher David Morrison, Secretary-Director Chris Apallas, Committee Counsel

Deborah Elliott, Planner III

Alexandria Quackenbush, Committee Clerk

Friday, July 22, 2022

9:00 AM

**Virtual Meeting** 

### 1. CALL TO ORDER; ROLL CALL

Committee Members Present: Mark Joseph, Liz Alessio, Geoff Ellsworth (Joined during Item 4B discussion), John Dunbar, Brad Wagenknecht, Bernie Narvaez (Joined after roll call), Gary

Committee Members Excused: Alfredo Pedroza, Marita Dorenbecher, Chris Canning, Anna Chouteau, Pierre Washington

Staff Present: Deborah Elliott, Jason Hall.

#### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chair Wagenknecht led the salute to the flag.

### **3. CONSENT ITEMS**

A. The Clerk of the Committee requests approval of minutes from the following regular meeting held on: June 24, 2022.

Members voted to approve minutes for the June 24, 2022, as presented.

MJ	PW	CC	GK	BN	LA	AP	BW	GE	AC	JD	MD
	X	X			2nd	X			X	1st	X

### 4. **ADMINISTRATIVE ITEMS**

A. Receive a presentation from PG&E on electric reliability and the grid of the future. staff.

Tom Huynh gave presentation with discussion, no action taken.

B. The Director of Planning, Building and Environmental Services requests authorization to negotiate and execute an agreement with Community Climate Solutions to fund a website for fiscal year 2022/2023. Staff requests that the Committee discuss the two options to determine whether the Committee would like County staff as the Administering Agency to negotiate and execute an agreement with Community

## Climate Solutions to fund the website for one year, through June 30, 2022.

Deborah Elliott provided an update with discussion, and action was voted on. Members voted to approve the negotiation and execution of the agreement with Community

Climate Solutions as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

MJ	PW	CC	GK	BN	LA	AP	BW	GE	AC	JD	MD
<u>2nd</u>	X	X			1st	X			X		X

# C. Staff will provide an update to the Climate Action Committee (CAC) on the Countywide Greenhouse (GHG) Inventory and optional tasks.

Deborah Elliott provided the update with discussion, no action taken.

### 5. PUBLIC COMMENT

(4) Public comments were heard.

### 6. REPORTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

- ➤ Member Narvaez shared two items: California Energy Commission (CEC) will host a workshop on vehicle grid integration on July 28, 2022; and, CARB is providing funding (\$3,000) for voucher program for clean off-road equipment.
- Member Ellsworth has concerns about efficiency as related to energy and efforts concerning Trucking & Garbage Waste to Upper Napa Valley converting to energy. Member Ellsworth wants to make sure we have proper analysis and know the impact to Climate.
- ➤ Member Dunbar announces next meeting on August 26, 2022, and concerns to make sure we do not have a two month gap on anything that might be actionable.
- ➤ Member Alessio shared she had a great tour with assembly member, Cecilia Aguilar-Curry, at Napa County Recycling & Waste with discussion. Member Alessio also thanked Emily Bit for her contributions.

### 7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- ➤ Chair Wagenknecht commented about Grand Jury Response; Director Morrison sent out a draft and reminded that there is no final due date for 90 days.
- Member Dunbar suggested getting a presentation on "Eye on Water" App from Town of Yountville for the August meeting. He will request presentation.
- Member Ellsworth will "take back" information to St. Helena on what they can work on for "Eye on Water" presentation.

## 8. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned to August 26, 2022, regular meeting.

JASON HALL, Clerk of the Committee

## <u>Key</u>

<u>Vote:</u> MJ = Mark Joseph; PW = Pierre Washington; CC = Chris Canning; GK = Gary Kraus; BN = Bernie Narvaez; LA = Liz Alessio; AP = Alfredo Pedroza; BW = Brad Wagenknecht; GE = Geoff Ellsworth; AC = Anna Chouteau; JD = John Dunbar; MD = Marita Dorenbecher.

Notations under vote: Y = Yes; N = No; A = Abstain; X = Excused;  $\underline{1}^{st} = 1^{st}$  motion;  $\underline{2}^{nd} = 2^{nd}$  motion

# Example

MJ	PW	CC	GK	BN	LA	AP	BW	GE	AC	JD	MD
	A		X			<u>1st</u>				2 <sup>nd</sup>	